The Gulag Archipelago - Book Set Vols. 1-3 by Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn (Paperback)

Sale price$69.99 USD


This set includes the three "The Gulag Archipelago" volumes in paperback.

The Gulag Archipelago, 1918-1956: Volume 1: An Experiment in Literary Investigation ( Gulag Archipelago, 1918-1956 #01 )
"The history of the United Soviet Socialist Republics is a bloody one, especially before and during the time of Stalin. Tens of millions of innocent people were tortured, imprisoned and killed; entire minority populations were targeted. In The Gulag Archipelago, Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn draws a harrowing portrait of four decades of Soviet repression.

Drawing on his own experiences before, during and after his eleven years of incarceration and exile, along with records from Soviet archives and the testimony of more than 200 fellow prisoners, Solzhenitsyn paints a shocking portrait of secret police operations, labor camps, prisons and executions. But The Gulag Archipelago is also the story of astonishing moral courage and incorruptibility amid brutality and degradation.

Aleksandr I. Solzhenitsyn (1918-2008) was born in Kislovodsk, Russia in 1918. He was educated at the Moscow Institute of History, Philosophy and Literature and at the University of Rostov. He was a twice-decorated captain in the Soviet Army, but was stripped of his rank when arrested and convicted in 1945 of anti-Soviet actions. From 1945 until his exile from the U.S.S.R. in 1974 for treason, Solzhenitsyn was in and out of prisons and work camps. He settled in the United States and lived in relative isolation in Vermont. After twenty years in exile, Solzhenitsyn was welcomed back to his homeland in 1994. He was the recipient of many awards, including the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1970 and the Medal of Honor for Literature in 1993."

ISBN: 0061253715    EAN: 9780061253713

The Gulag Archipelago Volume 2: An Experiment in Literary Investigation ( P.S. )
"Volume 2 of the Nobel Prize-winner's towering masterpiece: the story of Solzhenitsyn's entrance into the Soviet prison camps, where he would remain for nearly a decade. Features a new foreword by Anne Applebaum."

ISBN: 0061253723    EAN: 9780061253720

The Gulag Archipelago Volume 3: An Experiment in Literary Investigation ( Gulag Archipelago, 1918-1956 #03 )
Volume 3 of the Nobel Prize winner's towering masterpiece: Solzhenitsyn's moving account of resistance within the Soviet labor camps and his own release after eight years. Features a new foreword by Anne Applebaum.

ISBN: 0061253731    EAN: 9780061253737

Payment & Security

Amazon American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Elo Facebook Pay Google Pay JCB Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

Estimate shipping

You may also like

Recently viewed